District Background

The current Kazo District Local Government, came into being as a result of the people’s wishes and authority of Parliament effective July, 2019 to bring services closer to the people, it was curved out of the greater kiruhura district. It is comprised of of 08 administrative units with 07 sub-counties and one town council. It is bordered by Kyegegwa District in the North, Ibanda District in the West, Kiruhura District in the East and South, Kamwenge in the North West and Sembabule in the North East. The predominant economic activity is livestock keeping and crop growing.